Fadzly's blog on his photography

A Life Shot In Black And White

Gears: Nikon FM2 and Nikon Nikkor 50/1.4 AI lens | Kodak Tri-X 400 Film Location: Under Kuala Ibai bridge, Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia

FM2 | 50/1.4AI | Tri-X 400
Chendering Fisheries Complex, Kuala Terengganu (2007)

One of the best things about street photography is that it is like going on an unknown voyage. You just never know what you are going to find, or what shots you are going to make. Maybe a real nightmare for the average coordinator but such a treat for those who dislike any form of planning. And mind you, most other forms of photography demand heaps of preparation in advance. So there! A life shot in black and white.

Gears: Nikon FM2 and Nikon Nikkor 50/1.4 AI lens | Kodak Tri-X 400 Film Location: Under Kuala Ibai bridge, Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia

D50 | 50/1.4AI
First day of Ramadhan, Tok Jembal, Terengganu (2009)

Many people believe it is necessary to study arts and design in order to come up with a satisfactorily constructed picture.
But since photography is a tool for both documenting and self expression, the design of a photograph is inferior in importance. The composition of a photograph should be spontaneous to the scene and employed by the photographer’s vision not by a set of rules for correct design.

Not that a basic understanding of composition and design could hurt anyone, but don’t let that bother you too much and definitely don’t let it be the main factor when making your choices.

Next I’d like to quote an article from a young photojournalist, Lizane Louw, where she described how her passion in photojournalism has affected her life very much. This is what she had to say,

Gears: Nikon FM2 and Tokina RMC 135mm f/2.8 lens on Kodak Tri-X 400 Film Location: Under Kuala Ibai bridge, Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia

FM2 | Tokina RMC 135/2.8 | Tri-X 400
Under Kuala Ibai Bridge, Kuala Terengganu (2007)

“In my job I meet many influential people. Sometimes my road crosses with a person that inspires me on various different levels. I had the privilege to meet someone that changed the way I think, that changed my spiritual perceptions and that moved me and my thoughts very deeply.

Since meeting Hylton, I have been spending many days sitting and thinking about his story. In my heart and in my mind there are so many emotions that jump around if I think about our brief encounter. I struggle to find words to describe my gratitude and admiration. I thank the creator for choosing me to take these photographs and to let my path in life cross with his. It was a privilege to speak to him.” (Quote from Source: Lizane Louw)

Nikon D50 | Sigma 70-200/2.8
SUKMA XII Swimming Competition, Batu Burok Swimming Complex, Kuala Terengganu (2008)

However, one has to remember that in some unfriendly neighborhoods, shooting on the street can be extremely difficult and close to impossible. Any attempt to take pictures would inevitably lead to unwanted attention from the neighborhood drug dealers who populated the street corners and alleys. I personally do not believe in “assaulting” people with a camera. Don’t be surprised when most of the subjects that you approached may not be willing to be photographed. Should they be blamed?

There have been so many approaches to street photography, so far ranging in their unique style, that I believe the lack of exploitation and ability to contain meaning into the image which is technically competent are the big necessities in street photography or photo journalism.

3 responses

  1. Great shots all.

    July 26, 2009 at 7:51 pm

  2. You work is very nice. Keep in mind the best photographers of the time had little to no training. The used their eyes and their souls.

    December 27, 2009 at 9:11 am

  3. Pingback: Funny Emoticon

Leave a comment